ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

No. ECI/PN/191/2025

07.03.2025

Press Note

Commission to address decades long issue of duplicate EPIC numbers within next 3 months

Electoral Roll updation takes place under DEO & ERO with continuous public and political parties participation

India's Electoral Rolls are the biggest database of electors across the globe with over 99 crore registered electors. In addition to the continuous updation of Electoral Rolls, the Election Commission conducts Annual Special Summary Revision (SSR) exercise every year for updation of electoral rolls which happens during the period of October-December every year with publication of final rolls in the following month of January. For the poll going States/UTs, SSR is also conducted prior to the elections. For the recently concluded SSR 2025, the schedule was issued on August 7, 2024 and the final rolls were published during Jan 6-10, 2025 and the participatory and transparent process is enumerated below:

- 1. At every booth, a Booth Level Officer (BLO) is appointed by the Electoral Registration Officer (ERO) amongst the officials of the state government.
- 2. At every booth, political parties also have the right to appoint Booth Level Agents (BLAs).
- 3. All BLAs have the right to verify the electoral roll of the concerned booth and raise a complaint for anomaly, if any.
- 4. After house-to-house field verification, the concerned BLO submits the recommendations to the concerned ERO.
- 5. After taking into cognizance the above facts, ERO verifies the details of each elector for updation of electoral rolls.
- 6. The draft electoral rolls prepared are published on the website and also made available to political parties and the public.
- 7. Only after verification of draft Electoral rolls and settling any claims and objections received during a one month period, final rolls are published which are made available to political parties and also available polling station wise on ECI website (https://voters.eci.gov.in/download-eroll).
- 8. If any person has any objection, he has the option to file the first appeal to the DM/District Collector/Executive Magistrate under section 24(a) of RP Act 1950.
- 9. Even if the person is not satisfied with the decision of the first appellate authority, a second appeal to Chief Electoral Officer of the concerned State/UT under section 24(b) of RP Act 1950 can be filed.

For the recently concluded SSR, the relevant details as reported by CEOs of States/UTs are available at Annexure A.

As regards the issue of duplicate EPIC numbers, the Commission has already taken cognizance of the matter. **Irrespective of an EPIC number, an elector who is linked to the electoral roll of a particular polling station can cast his vote at that polling station only and nowhere else**. Sample enquiry of over 100 electors reveals that electors with duplicate EPIC numbers are genuine electors. Since the allotment of EPIC series in the year 2000 to the States/UTs, some EROs did not use the correct series. The issue of allotment of duplicate numbers due to incorrect series across States/UTs could not have been detected as the States/UTs were independently managing the electoral roll databases.

The Commission has now decided to resolve this long pending issue after detailed discussions within the technical teams and concerned CEOs in the **next three months** by ensuring a **unique national EPIC number to the existing electors having a duplicate EPIC number and for future electors as well**.

Any Clander

Anuj Chandak Director

Annexure A* 1st Level Electors 2nd Level BLOs BLAs (All Sr (as per final roll Appeal (State/UT State/UT Political Appeal No published after with Government) Parties) with CEO DM/DEO last SSR) Andhra Pradesh 4,14,40,447 46,165 68,868 0 0 1 Arunachal Pradesh 2 8,97,235 2,226 1,624 0 0 3 53,457 Assam 2,49,26,285 28,645 0 0 4 Bihar 7,81,88,426 77,392 1,42,149 0 0 5 2,11,25,498 24,109 0 0 Chhattisgarh 54,367 1,725 6 Goa 11,79,195 1,158 0 0 7 Gujarat 5,03,42,091 50,787 41,488 0 0 8 Haryana 2,06,32,503 20,031 90 0 0 9 **Himachal Pradesh** 57,25,817 7,990 14,799 0 0 10 Jharkhand 2,62,72,120 29,521 874 0 0 Karnataka 5,52,54,581 58,834 24,436 0 0 11 12 Kerala 2,78,66,883 25,177 72,764 0 0 Madhya Pradesh 5,71,66,754 65.014 1,20,061 0 0 13 89 1 14 Maharashtra 9,77,90,752 97,325 1,03,727 15 20,75,535 2.955 3.372 0 Manipur 0 0 Meghalaya 22,73,276 3,551 0 16 0 Mizoram 8,74,107 1,276 3,137 0 0 17 2,342 764 0 18 Nagaland 13,45,197 0 19 Odisha 3,41,21,104 37,809 9,563 0 0 20 Punjab 2,14,83,433 24,433 0 0 0 0 21 5,47,07,020 51,756 32,635 0 Rajasthan 22 Sikkim 4,69,925 573 822 0 0 23 Tamil Nadu 6,36,82,160 68,144 2,06,442 0 0 24 3,35,27,927 0 0 Telangana 35.356 26,650 0 25 Tripura 29,02,117 3.349 7.953 0 Uttarakhand 11,729 26 85,19,271 0 0 0 Uttar Pradesh 15,38,29,714 1,62,012 1,92,986 0 0 27 West Bengal 28 7,65,06,582 80,453 1,75,503 0 0 29 A & N Islands 3,12,090 411 435 0 0 614 30 Chandigarh 6,48,931 0 0 0 DNH and D&D 31 4,23,610 464 0 0 0 32 J&K 11,838 6,229 0 0 89,05,664 33 Ladakh 1,90,735 577 1,358 0 0 NCT OF Delhi 1,55,37,634 13,637 18,690 0 0 34 35 Lakshadweep 57,894 55 0 0 65 36 Puducherry 10,14,397 961 893 0 0 Total 99,22,16,910 10,49,236 89 1 13,87,359

*As per reports from CEOs of concerned States/UTs